Tags

, , , ,

Berry trifle

Berry trifle

Happy Memorial Day US folks! Thank you to everyone who works so hard to defend our country.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I hope you all had a nice long weekend. The weather here was perfect, especially for a cookout. Ms. G and I headed to our friend’s house for one such cookout and the berry trifle above is one of my contributions. It looks nice there, but it was not without strife. I couldn’t get the custard to thicken, I couldn’t get the whipped cream to whip, probably made a mistake in how I baked the pound cake but it turned out ok. Here’s the carnage after:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, I had to do more of a semi-homemade version than I would have liked, but it was still delicious and refreshing. Here is the recipe. They don’t say where to put the vanilla extract, but I figured it should go into the custard. Someday, I will conquer you custard and whipped cream! *shakes fist*

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is my other contribution which almost always turns out awesome:

Deviled Eggs

Deviled Eggs

How I love my eggs, but there is something extra decadent about deviled eggs. It makes plain ol’ hard boiled eggs a bit more exciting. I’ve done a few variations, but this is my basic go to version. I add mayo, sweet relish, smoked paprika, ground mustard, salt and pepper to the yolk, mush it up with a fork and fill. Yum! These are in an egg caddie that I found at Marshall’s. Super handy for all my egg transport needs!

The hosts provided a feast: grilled veggie skewers, grilled shrimp, grilled asparagus, grilled potatoes. Our friend T brought a delightful Thai noodle salad. We also brought a can of baked beans. Everything was delicious!

Feast

Feast

We sat talking and enjoying the outdoors and the awesome weather and just generally having a great time.

ViewNow all there is left to do is sit on the couch while nursing a food coma and wishing the weekend was even longer.

 

