Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

image

*Will edit all the Paris posts when I get home on a better machine. Edited October 22, 2104

Bonjour from Paris! After shenanigans with transportation on both ends of the trip, and perhaps the hottest and smallest flight I’ve ever been on (or so it feels like to me), I am here! The above picture was taken in the Jardin des Tuileries overlooking the Louvre and the Orsay Museums. I bought a baguette sandwich from Eric Kayser and tucked in while admiring this view. There were some ravens as big as my head there, but they didn’t come over and bother me. The sandwich I think was a roast turkey with roasted red peppers and lettuce. It cracks me up when I think about it, because it was the first transaction I did and I kind of lost all language ability, including English. So, it was a wonder I came out of it with anything decent at all. I got bolder the more I had to speak with people and of course luck would have it that I met all the not really English speaking people. No matter, it all worked out and I officially survived my first day in Paris.

After my baguette sandwich between meals snack, I went to the Orsay because they are open until late today. Honestly, I was really too tired to go through the whole thing with the level of appreciation it warranted. I’ll have to go back before I leave. I was pretty hungry and dead on my feet by the time I was done there and decided to walk towards my hotel and get something to eat. By this time, my phone has died on me which left me with paper maps which is fine. I’ve also stared at the Paris map for a couple of weeks now that I generally know which direction important things are, such as my hotel. What was a bummer is I couldn’t access my google maps that has saved all the eateries I wanted to try. I was counting on that for when I’m wandering and need food. Oh well. I still got fed in the end, which is what’s important.

I still sort of can’t believe I’m here. It’s interesting wandering today and trying to get my bearings and getting lost a few times.  I love that sense of wonder and newness that comes over me in a new place. I can’t wait to do more exploring tomorrow. Now I’m going to eat some macarons and go to bed. Bon Nuit!

EDIT

Hello Eiffel Tower!

Hello Eiffel Tower!

While driving to the hotel from the airport, all of a sudden we passed the Eiffel Tower. I took this while we were at a red light. What a happy accident.

One of the many bridges with love locks.

One of the many bridges with love locks.

2014-10-09 17.41.12

My chicken(?) sandwich from Eric Kayser. I really thought I was getting something along the lines of sesame brie, but no cheese in the sandwich. Tasty all the same.

Musee d'Orsay

Musee d’Orsay

Photos are not allowed in Musee d’Orsay, so I don’t have anything of the inside. Too bad, it’s so beautiful. I could have sat in the Impressionist room for hours.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My first Kir Cassis

Dinner at Cafe Solferino. Not the best I ever had, but fed me when I was hungry.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oeuf Mayonnaise. Exactly what it sounds and looks like.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Roast chicken. Yum!

Cheese. Just OK. I know! How can I get just OK cheese in Paris?

Cheese. Just OK. I know! How can I get just OK cheese in Paris?

