Tags

, , , , , , , ,

image

*All Paris posts will be edited later Edited November 3, 2014.

I have no idea why I only have this one ugly pic of Versailles on my phone, but I assure you there are many lovely ones in my camera. The subtitle of this post is ‘and we’re walking… and we’re walking…’ because that’s pretty much all I did today. All day. It really takes at least that long to do Versailles justice. Of course I didn’t leave as early as I should have, so it was a zoo. So many people. And the way the Chateau part is, you can’t really wander on your own. Everything is mapped out for you. So everyone is pretty much together most of the time depending on your individual speed. The gardens however. Oh the gardens. Possibly my favorite place yet. Just so beautiful and so well maintained. Too bad they didn’t have the fountains fountaining until later, except for the fountain of mirrors which was very very cool. The Trianon complex was very charming, but a bit limited because they are undergoing extensive renovation. Those gardens though. I think I walked something like three hours through it. So huge! Did I say huge? I mean huge!

I got back with enough time to rest a bit before dinner and then, of course because the world is just that small, I happen to sit next to an Indonesian family. We had a nice chat through our meal, which by the way was superb. Le Buisson Ardent is another place you must go if you are in Paris. The atmosphere is really nice, service attentive and with a smile. Food so delicious. Food coma number two, right here. And Kir Cassis is my new best friend.

I’m gonna go collapse now. My feet are so tired. Bon Nuit!

EDIT

On my way to Versailles, for whatever reason I was operating with half a brain. To get to Versailles, you have to buy a special RER train ticket because it’s a little bit further out of the city. When inside city limits, you can use a regular metro card to get on the RER trains. The RER trains are commuter trains that take you further out of the city, like to the airport, as well as operate within the city. It can actually be faster sometimes using an RER train because they have fewer stops. Anyway, my half brain had enough juice to buy tickets from the nice lady at the station. At the same time, a train must have come by because a huge horde of people were trying to exit the station. Madness ensues because it’s not a very huge station and there are limited ticket gates, PLUS some gates were only for the plastic cards and not the paper tickets, equals Susie is confused and can’t find the right ticket gate. A very nice stranger saw my obvious confusion and pointed out which one had the slot thingy for the paper ticket while he jumped the exit gates because people were just not moving. So, once I get through the gate I’m smack dab in the middle of the throng and can’t get through. When I finally did, someone chased after me to give me my ticket that I left in the ticket gate, which I might need to exit later. Only to figure out that I was on the wrong platform and had to go around to the other side. Seriously, brain dead. The lesson that day was that strangers are in general nice and helpful.

Here’s a selection of pictures from Versailles:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Gates of Versailles. Surely there’s a romance novel with this title.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chapel. There was a crew setting up some sound stuff, so of course in my head I’m wondering which number local crew they belong to.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ceiling!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the Louies.

Those Louies really liked themselves. There were so many paintings of them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another ceiling.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ceiling in the Hall of Mirrors.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Marie Antoinette and children.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Painting of Napoleon’s coronation. I love that he decided to crown himself. Also, humongous.

Selection of pictures of the gardens at Versailles:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My housemate, Ms. G, requested something before I left. She wanted me to take a picture of me next to her favorite fountain. Only, she didn’t know what it was called, knew approximately where it was and the identifying feature is it has those fish with the fat lips. No problem! Below is the result of my hunt for the fat lip fish fountain:

2014-10-11 14.10.49

“Is this it? Man, the glare of the sun makes it so hard to see. Sigh, I’m such a selfie fail.”

2014-10-11 14.35.04

“Oh, is this it? It has a fish with fat lips. Hmmm…”

I think it’s the first one, but it’s hard to tell.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The road to the Trianon complex.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Grand Trianon gardens.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Recycling!

Dinner at Le Buisson Ardent. Probably my favorite overall meal in Paris:

2014-10-11 20.12.05

Kir Cassis and fish pâté. Not pictured, lovely Sancerre for dinner.

2014-10-11 20.29.15

Amuse-bouche gazpacho. Tasty!

2014-10-11 20.39.00

Creamy pumpkin soup with shellfish, spaghetti squash in combawa oil & aged comte cheese cracker. Yum!

2014-10-11 20.58.48

Arctic char fillet with squid ink sauce, Jerusalem artichokes & parsnip cream with sea urchin. Delish!

2014-10-11 21.21.43

Crunchy cacao Mille-feuille, light cream flavored with Grand Marnier, candied kumquats. The bestest yummiest!

2014-10-11 21.39.27

And end with tea. I don’t know why I was so concerned before leaving that tea wouldn’t be a common thing. Not a problem at all.

