Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

image

*All Paris posts will be edited later Edited November 12, 2014.


So, today’s subtitle is steps. I started the day with going up the Notre Dame tower, take the above picture, and walk back down instead of going the next level up for 5 minutes (that’s all you get up there). The view is amazing, but my legs were not. I’m glad I did it this time because there’s no way I’m doing that again. Talk about being out of shape. Thanks for the memories Notre Dame!

I made a mistake strategically by opting for a sit-down lunch. Mistake because it took more time than I should have taken for lunch. There’s still things to see! No matter, I got an incredible onion soup out of it, had an adventure with foie gras and a good rest. The foie gras was good, but a lot. It was also served with an aspic that sometimes had a bitter note to it. It just wasn’t what I expected. So afterwards, I was reaaaaally ready for a nap. But instead I trudged to Centre Pompidou, got lost of course and proceeded to only see about a quarter of it before I had to run to the Orangerie before it closed for the day. Too bad too, because the Pompidou had some good stuff in it. One piece consists of rows of cheap globes with extended pieces taped on with brown tape on different parts of the world which represents a bombing there. Under the globes, the artist attached a picture of the aftermath of each bombing. it just made me realize that this is our world today. There’s not a day that goes by without a bombing somewhere in the world. I hate that this is our norm and it’s so so so ugly.

The Orangerie was super lovely and I could have sat there with the water lillies forever. Since I came so close to closing, I had to rush through it. The Special exhibition was works by Emile Bernard. I need to read up on him because it looks like at some point he completely changed his style. Intriguing! I was also interested in how all those works (there was a lot of them) were borrowed from all over the world. I can’t imagine how long it took to track them down and get them over there. So cool.

By the end of this, I’m pretty cranky and tired and I have dinner in 2 hours. i’m trying to decide which metro line to take back and decide to stop a bit further out before my hotel to check out some shops I meant to check out before. First stop: Lupicia. Tea replenishment: check. Next stop: Laduree. Macaron tasting and pastry du jour: check. Next stop: Patrick Roger. Chocolate tasting: check. Of course these things lifted my spirit considerably and I was way less tired than before.

Dinner at Fish La Boissonerie was very very good. My pork could have been a tad more moist, but I polished off that plate anyway. I don’t usually like western style pork dishes too much for this reason. I mean, when you’re of Chinese descent and grew up with superior pork dishes, that’s hard to follow. The flavors on that dish were very spot on though. I think kumquats must be in season, because I’m seeing them in dishes quite a bit.

So now I’m really really ready for bed. Tomorrow’s my last full day and I’m still hemming and hawing about where to go. I might go to the Cluny (it’s near here) and then Le Bon Marche or something (still haven’t done much shopping outside of museum gift shops. Do not ask me about all the things I got at Versailles which I proceeded to lug all over the gardens. I am a crazy person.). We’ll see. I might even just sit at a cafe all day or something. Bon nuit!

EDIT

Notre Dame tower view

Notre Dame tower view

Line to Notre Dame.

Line to Notre Dame.

Hôtel de Ville (City Hall)

Hôtel de Ville (City Hall)

Centre Pompidou lobby

Centre Pompidou lobby

Fountain next to Centre Pompidou

Fountain next to Centre Pompidou

French Onion Soup with beef marrow

French Onion Soup with beef marrow. Bowl of happiness. So amazing.

Duck foie gras with Gallia beer aspic and warm brioche

Duck foie gras with Gallia beer aspic and warm brioche. I need a second opinion on foie.

Cote du Rhone

Cote du Rhone

Ceylon tea

Ceylon tea

Dinner at Fish la Boissonnerie. This place got full fast. So glad I had a reservation.

Menu of the day at Fish La Boissonerie. Menu changes daily.

Menu of the day at Fish la Boissonnerie. Menu changes daily.

Amuse Bouche: Cucumber Gazpacho. Delish!

Amuse Bouche: Cucumber Gazpacho. Delish!

Rosé

Rosé

2014-10-13 20.48.39

Baked egg with polenta (?), dandelion and pancetta. So good and delicate.

Grilled pork with wasabi granita (?), kumquat and radiccio. A little dry, but tasty.

Grilled pork with wasabi granita (?), kumquat and radiccio. A little dry, but tasty.

Cheese plate. All delicious.

Cheese plate. All delicious.

End with tea.

End with tea.

And hey, there's some public toilets on the street. Convenient!

And hey, there’s some public toilets on the street. Convenient!

 

