Tags

, , , , , ,

My super cute hotel.

My super cute hotel.

So, on my last day in Paris I have decided beforehand that I am buying cheese to bring home. One of the most well known and respected cheese shop belongs to Laurent Dubois, which happens to be located across the street from my hotel. All week I was super intimidated by this plan because I don’t really know very much about cheese, let alone French cheese. So I gave myself a pep talk after breakfast and marched over there. They were super nice to me and really I had nothing to worry about. The lady who helped me very patiently explained things to me and helped me pick out some things, only to realize that I left my wallet in another bag in my hotel. So I ran back, grabbed my wallet, and ran back to the store. That was almost super embarrassing. Anyway, got my cheese and they even let me take pictures of the shop.

2014-10-15 10.19.05

2014-10-15 10.18.35

2014-10-15 10.18.26

2014-10-15 10.18.21

Then it was time to go to the airport. At the airport, I had my second breakfast:

Ispahan (Rose) cream cheese. Creamy and light with a subtle rose flavor.

Ispahan (Rose) cream cheese. Creamy and light with a subtle rose flavor.

The cheese and chocolates I brought home:

2014-10-18 18.13.35

Truffle goat cheese, 24 month aged Comte, Blue cheese from sheep’s milk, Camembert soaked in calvados. Selection of chocolates from Patrick Roger.

All of these things were amazing. The goat cheese was my favorite. So creamy that it didn’t feel like goat cheese.

Selection of macarons. We savored these. Did not want them to run out!

Selection of macarons. We savored these. Did not want them to run out!

I really loved my time in Paris. I wouldn’t do much differently. I didn’t do all the things I wanted to do, but that’s ok because now I have some things to see when I go back. I’m especially excited to go back and eat more. So much good food and I’ve only tasted very little of it. All people I encountered were so lovely. Customer service was great. No trace of the famous French rudeness people stamp them with. Early October turned out to be a great time to visit. The weather was just about perfect, warm and sunny during the day and just cool enough for a jacket at night. The metro was so reliable and within 10 minutes of anywhere in Paris. You have to be ready to hoof it regardless, because most of the metros do not have escalators or elevators. Next time, I would love to just walk and wander more. Paris is its own attraction.

